INTERPLANETARY

EXPANSION 2 - UNITY

GREAT NEWS BOSS! WITH THIS NEW EXPANSION FOR
INTERPLANETARY, Y0U NOW HAVE A PEER PLAYER TO
WORK WITH, EXPLORING SPACE TOGETHER IN UNITY!
ALL OF THE NEW COMPONENTS FOLLOW THE SAME
PATTERN AS THE BASE GAME'S ONES (SEE PAGE
THERE), SO PRINTING WORKS JUST AS IT DID EARLIER...

GREETINGS THERE! | AM COLONEL MACTIMBER, THE
PERSONAL ADVISOR TO YOUR COOPERATION PARTNER.

| WWONT KEEP 90U LONG, | JUST WANTED TO POINT OUT
THAT ALL THE NEW MATERIAL FROM UNITY IS MARKED
WITH THE 4 - SYMBOL FOR IDENTIFICATION SOMEWHERE.
HOWEVER, Y0U WILL ALSO0 FIND THE @ - SYUMBOL ON A
FEW COMPONETS. FOR NOW, THESE COMPONENTS ARE
NOT USED. THEY ARE USED BY ANOTHER EXPANSION,
SPACE RACE  FEATURING A COMPETETIVE EXPERIENCE!

This expansion transforms Interplanetary from a solo game into a cooperative
experience for two players. Together, you share the responsibility of spearheading
Squeaking's peaceful exploration of its solar system as the Joint Heads of the
Exploratory Branch of the United Forests Space Program.

Aside from printing all the new material, you must also provide the required
components for the second player. The numbers below assume that you are also
using Expansion 1 - Supply Drop, less cubes and dice are required otherwise.

— 8 8 BRREE

X CUBE =X MEEPLE 6X SIX-SIDED DIE

The 8 cubes used for fuel tracking should be of identical color to what you are
using for the base game. The 9th cube (used as track cube), the two meeples as
well as the second set of dice must be distinct from the base game's components.
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OVERVIEW OF NEW COMPONENTS

Most of the new material will be very familiar.

Unity contains a couple of new directive cards,
some belonging to acts from the base game while

42 HOT LANDING

When this directive comes into play:

Take the special tile, flip it until it shows
the planet Charr and place it directly

below the sol tile. It will remain there for

the rest of the game.

Combine this card with the other player's act VI directive!

UNITY STATION

each player, have come into play:
a location, randomly selecting between
Tree (if there is only one such tile, you
two cards on top of the interplanetary

others replace acts by number (like the Nnew act IT e oo 120wyt e rnstonpan

Lo . must land on planet Charr. SIS (0 o Lo (RS, . aA-A

CardS). In addltlon, there are three Coples Of the only perform actions you can still afford.
cooperation directive, discussed later. Note that

Astronomers have finally located Charr, the

from each player carrying that player's

space below (on this very card).

probe there will be a challenge...

the new act VI cards might look confusing on first .,

glance, pages 5 and 6 explain those in detail. &

it CREWED “3“ Additional craft and outpost cards, as well as a
special part for the second player are provided.

1
E = = " = = Remember: After printing your copy of Unity, color
=fa] 0 O =0 the white meeple in the top left corner on both the

front and the back of the new craft to match the
two new meeples you are using. Every craft in the
game must have its own distinct meeple!

L

. 1
YOU MAY DISCARD THIS CRAFT ONLY AT
OUTPOSTS OR WHILE IN ORBIT OF TREE

m

An alternative planetary tile for Tree is part of this
expansion too, although only one of its two sides is
used, namely the one which shows this expansion's
symbol and states COOP GAME in its top left corner.
The planetary tile's backside, as well as the additional
track tile component, are not used by Unity and are
instead employed by Space Race, a different expansion
that features a competetive experience for two players.

PUATER1  Continuing, there is one entirely new type of component:

arecurrenty tied: ha plgyer token, identifying a player, their component

It is your turn, so
choose an action

mdeeateir. . COlOr and break ties between the track cubes. Note that
(-J& 4 backsides of tokens are not used by Unity and are instead

i A0 employed in the competetive game only, for which you
B e s e need the Space Race expansion (as mentioned above).
5 remmeTeeot Finally, there is the new condition part: treat it like a
n
E

special part during setup, refer to directives during play.

DIRECTIVE-SPECIFIC

NNNNNNNNN ABOUT COMPONENT COLORS
Note that Unity requires you to keep track of which craft, depot, outpost,
special part and track cube belongs to which player, aka who "owns" what.
Therefore, as stated on the previous page, ensure that components like dice are
distinct! As the base game assumed black dice and black cubes, Unity assumes
additional white dice and a single white cube are provided. All graphics on the
components also follow this assumption, so adhering to this is recommended.
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PLAYING COOPERATIVELY WITH TWO PLAYERS

While introducing a second player to Interplanetary may sound complicated, it
actually is very simple and there are few deviations from the solo experience.

Where there was just one track cube before before, now there are two.
The same is true for the campaign deck. Aside from that, things stay the same.
In particular, all parts and part stacks are shared between players.

Note that Unity integrates with the Supply Drop expansion without any problems
and playing with both is actually highly recommended. If you are not doing that,
ensure that both players have an equal nhumber of outposts/depot cards.

THE REMAINDER OF THIS DOCUMENT SIMPLY DESCRIBES

THE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN PLAYING UNITY AND
PLAYING THE SOLO EXPERIENCE. NOT MUCH CHANGES!

UNITY SETUP:

Before beginning with the base game's setup, randomly assign a player token to
each player, thus defining who is player 1, playing with the white cubes and dice
and who is player 2, using the black cubes and dice from the base game.

During setup step 1 (on page 7 of the base rulebook), use the Unity's new
planetary tile with showing Tree instead of the base game's one. Ensure you
are using the side with COOP GAME in the top left corner. Also, when choosing

the difficulty, player 1 and player 2 must agree on which tiles to flip.

The same is true during setup step 2 (on page 8 of the base rulebook), player 1
and player 2 must both be satisfied with the initial state of the known parts
and part stacks before procceeding to the next step.

Again, everything part-related is shared between players, so there is only one
common known parts section on the table, ideally in front of both players.
Ensure you have both special parts as well as the condition part at hand.

For setup step 3 (also on page 8), take note that Unity comes with some
replacement directives! Instead of the Survey (act II), Crisis (act IV) and
Epilogue (act VI) cards, a game of Unity is played with the Challenges (act II),
Advancements (act IV) and Unity (act VI) directive cards.

For all other acts, simply shuffle the new cards with the base game ones (and
those from other expansions like Supply Drop if you including those). Prepare the
six different sets of act cards as normal, but then construct separate campaign
decks for player 1 and player 2 by taking only a single card from each act.
Each player's campaign deck therefore consists of only 6 cards in coop.
Furthermore, place all cooperation directives face-up the known parts area.

Finally, when executing setup step 4 (on page 9 of the base rulebook), reveal the
top directive of both campaign decks and place two track cubes of distinct
color on the track tile next to the 9, one for player 1 and one for player 2.
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Below you can see a potential layout (after setup) for a session of Unity:

SUMMARY —

TRACK
CUBES

B580
FILE

ia CREWED

SPACECRAFT

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

PLAYER 1:
* CAMPAIGN DECK

PLAYER &:

* CAMPAIGN DECK

* CRAFT AND OUTPOSTS
* PLAYER TOKEN

» BLACK CUBE AND DICE

COOPERATION
DIRECTIVES
(can be stacked)

* CRAFT AND OUTPOSTS
* PLAYER TOKEN
* WHITE CUBE AND DICE

NEW TREE TILE

REMEMBER TO KEEP SPECIAL PARTS, SPECIAL TILES
AND THE CONDITION PART CLOSE BY TOO, EVEN IF THEY
ARE NOT DERPICTED HERE. ALSO ENSURE EQUAL NUMBER
OF COMPONENTS (LIKE OUTPOSTS) FOR BOTH PLAYERS!

ORDER OF PLRAY:

Actual play alternates between the two players: The player who's track cube is
further up the track (larger number) gets to perform an action and pays its cost
using his or her own track cube. Afterwards, one compare the track cubes
again one player gets to act. If the cubes are tied, refer to the player tokens.

[

When one player resets, perform the campaign deck update
for that player and place his or her cube onto the track tile
instead of next to the tile's track. This serves as a reminder
that a player's cube is still ahead and until the second player
resets, that player may not act. Once that second reset
occurs (which is performed normally), place both track cubes
back on the edge of the track tile and resume play.

o
)

In this example, player 2's black track cube is on position 2 of the track, which
is further up when compared to the white cube on 1. Thus, this player must now
act and select an action, which is research new part here for sake of example.
After executing that action, a reset occurs since the cost of that action is 4
and the new location of that cube is thus on position 8. It is placed on the tile.
Consequently, player 1 must act now until the reset for that player occurs too!
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EXECUTING ACTIONS
As mentioned in the last page, you simply perform an action of your choosing if
it is your turn to act. In general, your actions may target any entity (craft,
depots and outposts) regardless of player association. Any player is thus
allowed to, for example, refuel craft in orbit of Tree, no matter who's craft it is.

There are three exceptions to this rule:
First, whenever an entity belonging to the other player enters or leaves play or is
affected in any way (e.g. gaining a part), that other player can veto the action.

Second, only the player owning a craft can move that craft. So, while the other
player may create a craft for you if you agree, he or she can never move it!

Third and last, while most boons of installations are accessible to both players
regardless of the outpost's owner, some boons do restrict usage! When a boon's
text states that you may do something, this limits usage to the outpost's owner.

S0, GIVEN PERMISSION, YOU MAY FOR INSTAHANCE OBTRARIN
SOMETHING FROM A CRAFT OF YOUR PARTNER WHILEIT
IS YUOUR TURN T0O ACT. AND SINCE THE COST OF ANY TYPE
OF TRANSFER IS O, Y0OU WILL ALSO BE THE ONE WHO IS
SELECTING THE NEXT RACTION.. SO0, COOPERATION IS KEY!

RIGHT Y0OU ARE, DEAR COLLEAGUE! CONSTRUCTING A PART
INTO A CRAFT OF YOUR PARTNER IS ANOTHER TYPICAL
EXAMPLE. YUHOU ARE A TEAM, ACT LIKE ONE!

DO KEEP IN MINDO THE THREE RESTRICTIONS FROM RABOVE,
AS THESE OF TFEN NECESSITATE CAREFUL PLANNING...

ADDITIONAL ACTION TYPES
Unity introduces two entirely new actions, not listed on your action summary:

The first is the cooperation action, which is explained in detail on the
cooperation directive cards (placed among your known parts during setup).
To give a short intuition, you can extend the time a directive is in play with
these actions but you can only use this action a limited number of times, as
the card is removed from play when it has taken effect.

The second is the waste action, which you really do not want to use! At cost 1
you can do absolutely nothing (except moving your track cube). If you find
yourself employing this action frequently, you should reconsider your strategy.

FULFILLING DIRECTIVES

Failing and fulfilling directives works just like normal, but one always checks
both campaign decks after any action. If any directive's condition is satisfied,
no matter who's campaign deck it is on or next to, the directive is fulfilled.
This means that most directives can be fufilled by any player, at any time!
For example, if it is required that at least two different tiles of the solar system
must each have one or more outposts on them, it does not matter which player
has placed these outposts, aka which dice color these outposts have.
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Only if it explicitly stated that you need to do something or one of your
components needs to be in a specific state, a specific player is required to fulfill
the directive's condition. In that case, this "you" refers to the player who drew

the directive card and on or next to who's campaign deck it resides.

After failing or fulfilling a directive, that directive is rotated as usual. Each
player does need to keep track of his or her own pool of failed and fulfilled
directives similar to his or her own campaign deck.

Do not pool directive cards, it is relevant who failed or fulfilled what later on.

INTERPLANETARY, YOU BASICALLY ALWAYS HARVE TO
WORRY ABOUT TWO DIRECTIVES AT THE SAME TIME!

BUT UNLIKE THE ORIGINAL EXPERIENCE, YHOU ARE ALSO NO
LONGER ALONE! YOU GOT A PARTNER TO HELP YS0OU OUT,
S0 DISCUSS THE PROBLEMS AT HAND AND MAKE THE
HIGH-LEVEL DECISIONS TOGETHER. FINALLY, REMEMBER
THE COOPERATION ACTION FROM PAGE 5, WHICH YOU CAN
EMPLOY TO STRATEGICALLY DELRAY THE EVER-LOOMING
DEADLINE OF SOME DIRECTIVE. TRUST ME, IT IS USEFUL!

ACT VI-UNITY

The new Unity directives of act VI (instead of Epiloge) may look a little strange
at first, because the two cards can only be read when placed next to each other.

When the first act VI card is revealed, simply ignore its text. Only follow its
instructions after the other player has revealed his or her act VI directive too.

All rules regarding having no campaign deck anymore remain in effect at any
time (see page 15 of the base game's rulebook). This means, once an act VI
directive of a player has been revealed, that player has to rotate one of his or
her fulfilled directives to its failed side when his or her track cube resets.
If this is no longer possible for a player, the game ends for both players (as one
needs both cards to fulfill it) and both act VI cards count as failed directives.

REMOVING COOPERATION CARDS FROM THE GAME
If a cooperation directive's text on the card instructs you to remove that card
from the game, this means just setting it aside for the rest of the session.

In other words, you can neither fulfill or fail a cooperation directive!

SCORING
Even when playing with Unity, scoring follows the base game's rules to the letter.
Simply compute the sums as indicated on page 30 of the base game's rulebook.

Remember to record both your names into the Hall of Fame and keep in mind that
you either fulfill both directives of act VI or none of the two, which means you
either get +8 or nothing for the two directives of the final act.
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THE CONDITION PART

A O The new condition part can be treated like the special parts
e o during setup, which means that it only enters and leaves play
rrunchins THserrT  through directives. Refer to such cards for more instructions.

creckorecrve  UNlike the special parts though, you may discard the

FORINSTRUCTIONS - condition part at any time. Instead, its defining feature is
your inability to transfer or launch the condition part from
its current location to any other craft or depot.

mIisSSsION—-SPECIFIC

Fodpr Also, a celestial object of type comet (in case that is relevant)

orecTivEsPECPC g depicted on its backside, also entering play via a directive.

THE PRESENCE OF THE CONDITION PART BASICALLY
INDICATES THAT A CRAFT AS MANRAGED TO ACHIEVE R
SUBGOAL OF A DIRECTIVE, LIKE LANDING SOMEWHERE.

In the (unlikely) event that one directive calls for the condition part, while
another instructs you do to something with that card's backside, substitute the
condition part through the coin (wherever it currently resides) and flip the card.

PLAYING A UNITY CAMPAIGN ALONE
While the Unity expansion has been designed to enable cooperative play, nothing
prevents you from just playing both players, going in solo again.

Just remember to make a distinction in the Hall of Fame that you were playing
actual Unity, instead of the base game with additional directives from Unity.

BE PREPARED FOR A ROUGH TIME THOUGH, FOR IT IS
MUCH MORE COMPLICATED TO AVOID SCREWING UP THE
ORDER OF PLAY RULES WHEN TRHCKLING UNITY ALONE...

MORE DIRECTIVES FOR THE BASE GARAME
As stated on page 2, Unity comes with a bunch of new directive cards.

Some of these replace acts from the base game, for example act II from Unity
(Challenges) replaces act II from the base game (Survey) when playing coop.
Others however simply expand the variety of existing acts and can therefore
also be integrated with the base game's solo experience.

In fact, Unity comes with a single card, named Grand Tour, which can only be
used in the solo game, since it belongs to Epilogue (act VI of the base game).

To experience the base game's solo mode with the new material, simply include
the additional directive cards during setup when you when sort the cards by act
to form the campaign deck (similar to Expansion 1 - Supply Drop).

AS TEMPTING AS IT MAY BE, | ADVISE AGARINST HOUSE
RULING THE ALTERNATIVE ACTS INTO A NORMAL SOLO
GRAME, AS THE BALANCING OF UNITY IS TOO DIFFERENT!
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